ESA signature
11 - 15 September 2023 University of Leeds



The European Space Agency is co-organising together with the University of Leeds, the 12th International Workshop on “Advances in the Science and Applications of SAR Interferometry and Sentinel-1 InSAR” – FRINGE 2023. The workshop will take place at the University of Leeds, UK, from 11 to 15 September 2023.



Fringe 2023 is a free workshop open to scientists, students, as well as representatives from national, European and international space agencies and value adding industries.

Language and fees

No participation fee is charged, the only costs apply to the sponsor packages for the FRINGE exhibition.
The official language of the workshop is English.

Fringe 2023 is organised around:
  • Papers and posters selected by the Scientific Committee;
  • Invited papers on ESA-funded studies and Sentinel-1 and other future ESA SAR mission status reports;
  • Round-table discussions with seed questions prepared by the session chairpersons and ESA.

Scientific Objectives

  • To bring together the global InSAR research and development communities and facilitate international exchange between researchers and research groups;
  • To present the Sentinel-1 mission status, algorithms and products;
  • To review and assess the progress according to the recommendations voiced at FRINGE 2021;
  • To consult the scientific communities to prepare ESA for starting supporting science activities for Sentinel-1, BIOMASS, ROSE-L and Harmony in the InSAR domain.

Conference Themes

Technical areas:
  • Atmosphere, Ionosphere & InSAR Meteorology
  • Advances in InSAR theory & methodological innovations
  • Bistatic Interferometry
  • Analysis of intensity and coherence time-series
  • Polarimetric Interferometry & Tomography
  • Future Missions
  • New Space InSAR
  • SAR/InSAR processing environments
Thematic areas:
  • Earthquakes & tectonics / seismic hazards
  • Ice & Snow
  • InSAR for the built environent / infrastructure monitoring
  • Volcanoes / volcanic hazards
  • Subsidence monitoring
  • Landslides, sinkholes & related hazards
  • Land-Cover and Vegetation Mapping
  • DEMs

Abstract Submissions

Note: Abstract length should be at least 350 words and maximum 2000 words (one A4 page, single space normally contains 400-500 words).
Please include as much information as possible about the main author/co-authors (name, last name, affiliation, contact email information is required).
November 14, 2022

Abstract submission opening

The Abstract submission interface is now open, and we invite you to submit your abstract(s) along with your
selection of the theme and type of presentation (oral or poster)

November 14, 2022
February 28, 2023

Abstract submission closure

The abstract submission phase closes at the end of February 2023.

February 28, 2023
April 15, 2023

Notification of acceptance

All the authors will be notified by mid-April 2023.

Please be informed that the Scientific Committee may change the selected contribution type (ORAL/POSTER) based on the scientific review outcome.

April 15, 2023
May 2, 2023

Preliminary Programme

The Preliminary Programme will be issued in early May 2023

May 2, 2023
May 2, 2023


The registration for the participation to the workshop will open in early May 2023

May 2, 2023

Contact info

For information regarding the submissions, author instructions, scientific committee related inquiries please contact

For information regarding the logistics of the venue place, registration and Exhibition sponsor packages please contact

Schedule and Deadlines

Abstract submission openingNovember 2022
Abstract submission closureEnd of February 2023
Notification of acceptancemid-April 2023
Issue of Preliminary ProgrammeMay 2023
Registration OpeningMay 2023
Issue of Final Programmeat the workshop
Workshop11 – 15 September 2023

Organizing Committee

Philippe Bally


Matteo Corona

Olly Services

Malcom Davidson


Yves-Louis Desnos  


Marcus Engdahl 


Diego Fernandez


Anna Hogg

University of Leeds

Julia Kubanek


Sabrina Lodadio


Nuno Miranda


Muriel Pinheiro


Björn Rommen


Ulla Väyrynen